Computing equipement : all our advice

Computing equipement : all our advice

Your IT assets require constant monitoring and vigilance: after all, they are your best efficiency tool.

A well thought-out management of your equipment allows you to prevent failures, reduce operating costs and ensure its longevity. This is a crucial issue for your IT managers.

The Middeo Team met to determine the best practices to implement in order to optimize IT asset management. Here are the three conclusions we reached:

1. SET UP YOUR CMDB

The CMDB (or "Configuration Management Data Base") is an essential element in the optimization of your critical equipment.
It allows you to set up a database listing all the elements that make up your computer equipment, including :

• Printers
• Keyboard and mouse
• Computers
• Software and licences

This database gathers all the technical, administrative and financial information of your IT infrastructure. It allows you, for example, to report on the management of your services, to anticipate the obsolescence of your fleet or to analyze the impact of an incident involving damaged equipment.

2. STANDARDIZE YOUR SOFTWARE AND HARDWARE

Standardizing software and hardware may seem obvious in this day and age, but many companies still use heterogeneous hardware and software.
Reducing the number of different hardware and software devices will allow you to gain efficiencies in deployment and maintenance: with fewer updates to perform, fewer failures due to incompatibility and less testing to perform.
It also means that each member of your team will no longer be able to use their own hardware or favorite programs. Don't hesitate to communicate about the upcoming changes and be available if you have any doubts or questions, so that your whole team understands the value of switching to new hardware.

Lire aussi : Thin client : Lighten your workstation.

3. AUTOMATE YOUR INFORMATION SYSTEMS

Many routine operations can be automated to increase efficiency, such as:

• Software updates
• Their deployment on new posts
• Restarting your servers
• … and much more !

So is this a threat to your company's IT workforce? Nothing could be further from the truth. According to a Baseline magazine survey, only 7% of them would consider automation tools as a danger to their business. This automation allows them to free themselves from repetitive and low-value-added tasks, so they can focus on the most interesting activities of their business.

AND IF WE WORKED TOGETHER ?

Middeo has an expertise in the management of IT fleets and outsourcing, mastering for 20 years the technical and business aspects of all car manufacturers and working daily with Jaguar Land Rover and Volvo.We would be happy to answer all your questions and help you realize your projects, please contact us using the form on the page.

Categories: Connecter
Tags:
Groups:

Newsletter subscription

Take a look at the articles

Parc Informatique : Tous nos conseils

Parc Informatique : Tous nos conseils

Votre parc informatique demande un suivi continu et une vigilance constante : après tout, il s’agit de votre meilleur outil d’efficience.

Une gestion raisonnée de vos équipements permet de prévenir les défaillances, de réduire les coûts de fonctionnement ainsi que d’assurer sa longévité. C’est un enjeu crucial pour vos responsables informatiques.

L'Équipe Middeo s’est réunie afin de déterminer les meilleures pratiques à mettre en œuvre afin d’optimiser la gestion de parc informatique. Voici les trois conclusions auxquelles nous sommes arrivés :

1. METTRE EN PLACE VOTRE CMDB

Le CMDB (ou « Configuration Management Data Base ») est un élément essentiel à l’optimisation de votre parc essentiel.
Elle permet de mettre en place une base de données répertoriant l’ensemble des éléments constituants votre parc informatique, parmi lesquels :

• Les imprimantes
• Les claviers et souris
• Les ordinateurs
• Les logiciels et licences

Cette base de données réunit toutes les informations techniques, administratives et financières de votre parc. Il vous permet, par exemple, de faire le reporting sur la gestion de vos services, d’anticiper l’obsolescence de votre parc ou d’analyser l’impact lors d’un incident engageant un matériel endommagé.

2. HOMOGÉNÉISER VOS LOGICIELS ET VOTRE MATÉRIEL

Standardiser logiciels et matériels peut sembler une évidence à notre époque ; pour autant, de nombreuses entreprises utilisent encore des équipements et des logiciels hétérogènes.
Réduire le nombre d’équipements et de logiciels différents vous permettra de gagner en efficience en ce qui concerne le déploiement et la maintenance : avec moins de mises à jour à effectuer, moins de défaillances pour cause d’incompatibilité et moins de tests à effectuer.
Cela veut dire, aussi, que chaque membre de votre équipe ne pourra plus utiliser son propre matériel ou ses programmes préférés. N’hésitez pas à communiquer au sujet des changements à venir et à être disponible en cas de doute ou de question, pour que toute votre équipe comprenne l’intérêt de passer sur un nouveau matériel.

Lire aussi : CLIENT LÉGER : Alléger son poste de travail.

3. AUTOMATISER VOS SYSTÈMES D’INFORMATION

De nombreuses opérations de routine peuvent être automatisées afin de gagner en efficacité, comme par exemple :

• La mise à jour des logiciels
• Leur déploiement sur de nouveaux postes
• Le redémarrage de vos serveurs
• … et bien plus encore !

Est-ce donc une menace pour les effectifs IT de votre entreprise ? Rien n’est moins sûr. D’après une enquête du Baseline magazine, seuls 7% d’entre eux considéreraient les outils d’automatisation comme un danger pour leur métier. Cette automatisation leur permet de ne plus s’encombrer de tâches répétitives et à faible valeur ajoutée, afin de se concentrer sur les activités les plus intéressantes de leur métier.

ET SI NOUS TRAVAILLIONS ENSEMBLE ?

Middeo possède une expertise dans la gestion des parcs informatiques et l’infogérance, maîtrisant depuis 20 ans les aspects techniques et métiers de tous les constructeurs automobiles et travaillant au quotidien avec Jaguar Land Rover et Volvo. Nous serions heureux de répondre à toutes vos questions et de vous aider à réaliser vos projets, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter grâce au formulaire se trouvant sur la page.

Categories: Connecter
Tags:
Groups:

Inscription à la Newsletter

Recevez nos articles